ITIL® 2011 Foundation


Course Overview

The purpose of the ITIL Foundation certificate in IT Service Management is to certify that the candidate has gained knowledge of the ITIL terminology, structure and basic concepts and has comprehended the core principles of ITIL practices for service management. The ITIL Foundation certificate in IT Service Management is not intended to enable the holders of the certificate to apply the ITIL practices for service management without further guidance.

This Two days course is designed to effectively prepare aspiring service professionals to sit and pass the ITIL® Examination from PEOPLECERT.

Target Group

The target group of the ITIL Foundation certificate in IT Service Management is drawn from:

  • Individuals who require a basic understanding of the ITIL framework and how it may be used to enhance the quality of IT service management within an organization.
  • IT professionals that are working within an organization that has adopted and adapted ITIL who need to be informed about and thereafter contribute to an ongoing service improvement programme.

This may include but is not limited to, IT professionals, business managers and business process owners.

Learning Objectives

Candidates can expect to gain knowledge and understanding in the following upon successful completion of the education and examination components related to this certification.

  • Service management as a practice (comprehension)
  • The ITIL service lifecycle (comprehension)
  • Generic concepts and definitions (awareness)
  • Key principles and models (comprehension)
  • Selected processes (awareness)
  • Selected functions (awareness)
  • Selected roles (awareness)
  • Technology and architecture (awareness)
  • Competence and training (awareness)


Service Lifecycle

  • Details the basic terminologies of IT Service Industry
  • Understand IT Service Management and RACI matrix

Service Strategy

  • Financial Management
  • Demand Management
  • Service Portfolio Management
  • Service Improvement Plans
  • Business Relationship Management

Service Design

  • Service Level Management
  • Service Level Agreement
  • Operational Level Agreement
  • Underpinning Contract
  • Supplier Management
  • Availability Management
  • Capacity Management
  • Information Security Management
  • Service Catalogue Management
  • Service Design Packages

Service Transition

  • Service V Model
  • Evaluation, Testing, Validation, Release and Deployment
  • Change Management
  • Service Asset and Configuration Management
  • Knowledge Management

Service Operation

  • Event Management, Incident Management
  • Access Management
  • Request Fulfillment
  • Problem Management
  • Local Service Desk
  • Centralized Service Desk
  • Virtual Service Desk
  • Follow-the-sun Service Desk
  • Technical Management
  • Applications Management
  • IT Operations Management
  • Facilities Management
  • Operations Control

Continual Service Improvement (CSI)

  • CSI Approach
  • 7-Step improvement process
  • Deming’s cycle

Learning Outcome
what you will learn:

1. Key concepts, terms, and principles of Service Management
2. 5 Modules in ITSM
3. Complete understanding of what is required to pass the ITIL® 2011 Foundation Exam

Target Audience
This 2-days course is perfect for those who are involved in the service industry and aspiring to get accredited from a global body.

The AXELOS logo, AXELOS swirl logo and ITIL® are registered trademarks of AXELOS Limited